Automatication in Emacs Org Mode: Mobile Org and HTML

My rhythm has been broken due to some travelling matters. Which is not good, but I’m trying to get back on track.
Today I finally get myself to sync Org Mode to my iPhone.
There are 2 auto save in Emacs that I currently use and think is useful.

First, it’s the Mobile Org.
Mobile Org by itself doesn’t auto sync, it requires you to call a command to send and receives updates. But it’s actually possible to do this automatically.
I set up my Mobile org as below

(setq org-mobile-inbox-for-pull "~/Dropbox/data/org/errands.org") ; the file to write to in iPhone Capture
(setq org-mobile-files(quote ("~/Dropbox/data/org/errands.org"))) ; set to only read this file on MobileOrg
(setq org-mobile-directory "~/Dropbox/アプリ/MobileOrg") ; set the MobileOrg application folder

Some notes:

  • MobileOrg folder automatically created by iPhone App, doesn’t work if you create it yourself (reset by link/unlink Dropbox)
  • If not specifying org-mobile-files, MobileOrg will push every new outline you create, even if you don’t want to see it in your mobile. And I don’t need to view all of my files on my iPhone, it’s good to keep the syncing list short.
  • edit: The code to avoid Org Mode to put tags on every file is
    (setq org-mobile-force-id-on-agenda-items nil)

The auto pushing to Dropbox is done by the script stolen from KenMankoff. It will push to Dropbox automatically several seconds after you save your specified file.

The auto pulling is done by this script below, which is done everytime you open emacs.
(add-hook 'after-init-hook 'org-mobile-pull)

Second one is to publish your file to HTML everytime you save, which is stolen from Sacha Chua. I haven’t had a good idea to efficiently look at exported notes, but this could be useful.

Leave a Reply

